Indian Removal: A Historical Snapshot

Important Dates and Laws

- Removal Act of 1830
- Over 50,000 Native Americans were relocated to the Indian Territory
- Nearly 70 removal treaties were signed from 1829-1837
- The Cherokee Nation challenged their removal in Cherokee Nation v. The State of Georgia court case in 1831

Map: The Indian Frontier (1841)

- This map shows the different Native American tribes in the United States that moved east of the Mississippi River following the legislation passed by Congress
- These tribes included the Creek and Seminole, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Cherokee, Osage,
 Shawnee, Quapaw, New York Indians, Ottawa, Miami, Kaskaskia, Peoria, Shawnee,
 Kickapoo, Cheyenne, Arapaho, Pawnee, Omaha, Sauk and Fox, Potawatomi, Winnebago, and
 Ojibwa tribes.

Source

- Indian Frontier by Encyclopedia Britannica Inc. by Public Domain